News & Events


Renewal of the Enthronement of the Sacred Hearts

The Sacred Heart Enthronement Guild gathered at the IHM Center on the evening of June 22 for the celebration of the Eucharist in honor of the Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary. Bishop Joseph Bambera was the main celebrant. Msgr. John Esseff, Father Joseph Sibliano, OSJ, Father Lee Havey, CP and Father Daniel Toomey, Spiritual Moderator of the Guild, concelebrated. During the liturgy Bishop Bambera renewed the Enthronement of the Sacred Hearts for the Diocese of Scranton. The celebration began with a musical prelude by the Sacred Heart Singers under the direction of Ernie Pappa and Jennifer Michel. The Sacred Heart Singers also provided the music for the Eucharistic liturgy.

Following the Eucharistic liturgy, dinner was served in the Theresa Maxis Conference Center. The dinner program included the crowning of the statues of Jesus and Mary. Sister M. Celesta Sinisi, IHM, former moderator of the Guild now serving as IHM liaison to the Guild, welcomed more than 150 Guild members and their guests. Steve Englot, President of the Guild, and Patrick Williams, VP of the Guild, served as the toastmasters. Ernie Pappa, Communications Director and Msgr. John Esseff, former Spiritual Moderator, offered remarks. The benediction was offered by Father Daniel Toomey, Spiritual Moderator of the Guild.

The Enthronement of the Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary was established at Marywood College in 1945 by Bishop William Hafey. Father Edward Collins served as the first diocesan director and Sister Ethelbert Gilroy, IHM, was the first moderator. Sister Romaine Krug, IHM succeeded Sister Ethelbert. Sister Celesta Sinisi, IHM succeeded Sister Romaine and served as moderator for 20 years. Maria Pappa has served as the coordinator for the past three years.

Sacred Heart Mass June 2017

Seated L-R: Rev. Joseph Sibilano, OSJ, Msgr. John Esseff, Most Rev Joseph Bambera, D.D., JCL, Bishop of Scranton, Rev. Daniel Toomey, Spiritual Moderator, Rev. Lee Havey, CP        Middle L-R: Kay Price, Maria Englot, Stephen Englot, Patrick Williams, Jane O'Neill, Sister Patricia Hauser, IHM, Kim Lastauskas, Sister Romaine Krug, IHM and Sister M. Celesta Sinisi, IHM, Liaison to the IHM Congregation.      Standing L-R: Chester Montante, Maria Montante, Sister Maria Rose Kelly, IHM, Bill Orner, Maria Pappa, Guild Coordinator, Michelle Ryman, Marion Clauss, and Debbie Orner.